The Night Sky

Down with my head drooped I sit,
On the rough ground so wet,
A voice within me whispers, Is that it?
A voice full of sorrow and regret.

Then, heavenwards does my gaze shift,
and I see a hopeful ray,
The dark cottony monsters had begun to drift,
Yes. They had begun to drift away.

The cratered features of the Moon, now became clear,
The dazzling moonlight started to spread afar,
No hellish cloud could now be seen near,
And then from behind peeked a star

Here, I see the hunter strut with his sword,
There, A bear wandering in northern whereabouts,
As within the twins rests the Lord,
And then out leaps a pair of trouts.

A heavenly rock then plummets to the ground,
With a magnificent, blazing flare,
For a jiffy or eternity, I am spellbound,
And I do nothing but stare.

And then again, the spectres rise,
A blank darkness reigns, where once had been Aries,
Their onward march does not cease,
And those rogues engulf the poor, puny Polaris.

The glimmering aurorae,
And the dotted clusters,
Had now given way,
To crackling bolts and thunders.

And then I settle down once more,
And think, “My future isn’t dark as it seems”,
Though an invincible wall of shadowy clouds stands before,
Behind it a beautiful night sky gleams.

Leave a comment